NXT UK Heritage Cup Announced Featuring Unique Rules

WWE have announced that NXT UK’s return next week will feature the start of an 8-man Heritage Cup tournament featuring a unique set of rules.


Credit: WWE

On tonight’s episode of NXT UK, WWE announced The Heritage Cup tournament that will take place over the first few weeks of NXT UK after its relaunch on September 17th.

The announcement was made by NXT UK Assistant To The General Manager, Sid Scala. We will never tire of that Wernham Hogg reference by the way…

The tournament will feature an eight man field as well as a unique set of rules patterned on old style British wrestling.

Each match in the tournament will feature six rounds of three minutes in length with a 20 second break between each round. Matches will be two out of three falls with decisions attainable by pinfall, submission and count-out. A disqualification or knock-out will result in an immediate end to the match.

If a match lasts the full six rounds, a judge’s decision will decide the winner.

Seven names have been named for the tournament. They are Flash Morgan Webster, A-Kid, Trent Seven, Alexander Wolfe, Dave Mastiff, Noam Dar and Joseph Connors. The eighth contestant has not yet been named.

In addition to the tournament, the first episode will feature Kay Lee Ray defending her NXT UK Women’s Title against Piper Niven.

Main Event Confirmed For WrestleMania Backlash

WWE began taping content at the BT Sports studio in East London last week and will remain in-situ in that studio for the foreseeable future.

The Heritage Cup episodes of NXT UK will be available to view on the WWE Network and BT Sport.


Want to hear the latest news from Hooked On Wrestling? Join our mailing list!

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter